Six Air Evac Lifeteam crews responded to transport victims of the Marshall County High School shooting in Benton, Ky. Air Evac crews from Mayfield and Crittenden County, Ky., responded, along with Air Evac crews from Obion Co., Henry Co., and Martin in Tennessee and the Sikeston, Mo., crew.

The crews, each consisting of one pilot, one flight nurse and one flight paramedic, are able to respond to the scene of an emergency or transport patients from one medical facility to another. Four of the six crews transported patients to the closest trauma facility approximately 110 miles away.

Allen Jones, program director for the Mayfield, Ky., Air Evac Lifeteam base, is en route to the command center in Benton.

“Our thoughts and prayers are with everyone affected by this tragedy,” Jones said.